Skip to main content

I am so Disappointed in Myself

Yesterday was True Team sections, and for the first time I got my own events instead of just being put in the 4x4 like years past. I was excited, I was feeling good, and I was ready to win. Then everything went to hell.

I started of the day with high jump. I warmed up, stretched, did a couple run throughs everything checked out okay. I was nice and limbered up and was on step for high jump. I still had ten minutes before the event started and decided to grab something to drink. You know, stay hydrated and all that in the heat. Anyways...I came back tossed my spikes on and got ready to RUMBLE!!!!! Actually it was more like tumble. I never made it over opening height. Opening height was 4 feet. 4 FREAKING FEET!! To make matters worse I cried. I hate crying, especially where people can see me. At least I was able to put an end to it quick, and blame my running nose on my cold. Even worse my coach kept trying to cheer me up but everything he said just made it worse. Especially when I could clearly see the disappointed written all over his face. Oh also, no one else even came close to touching the bar. I mean not even close. I think they drank Red Bull because they sure had wings. While I was stuck on the ground as if coated in cement.

I was upset for a couple hours. My mood only picked up during 300 hurdles. For a little bit at least.

I didn't want to do them any more. I love 300 hurdles, but after my complete fail at high jump I just couldn't do it. I mean I was sure I was going to fail. Fail and fail hard. Then I pumped myself up. Gave myself a little pep talk, and told myself it worked. Just because I wasn't feeling up to, doesn't mean that I didn't give it my all. I was heat 3 lane 7, with 5 other people in my heat and a total in of 15 girls in all. I wanted to win. I wanted to run a 52 sec. If I can run a 50 sec 300 in practice after everything else we did that day, I could run a 52 in 300 hurdles where I'd done nothing else. I started out strong, and even though I had the wrong lead leg almost the entire time and looked like a freak, I was doing good. I was first until the last hundred yards when that chick in one of the other lanes came out of no where and just barely beat me out for first. I still felt good. Then I found out what my time was and that feeling went away. I ran a 55. A FREAKING 55!! What happened?! I have never run a 55. At least I wasn't last in one event. Ya, I was 12th. Go me.

Then along came the 4x4. Everyone'e favorite event (I hope you caught the sarcasm there). Originally I was slotted to go first, but I'm not good at going first and Megan said she'd rather go first anyways.  Instead I went second. As we were waiting for the boys 2 mile to end KJ decided to give me a "pep" talk. It was really him telling me not to screw it up. That Megan was going to get us into first and all I had to do was keep it. I repeatedly told me that I better go out hard int the first hundred (what I can never do), that if I can do it in practice I can do it now. That I have to run no slower than a 65. He repeatedly stressed that. What I heard was, "I know you suck. I know you're a terrible runner. I have no idea why I put you in this, but you're in it and you better do well. If you don't do well the loss of True Team will be all your fault." That;s what i heard. I did the quick math and figured I should be running 16.25 sec 100s, or better yet just plain 16 sec 100s. Easy. I went out hard, and continued hard. I was chanting "16 seconds, 16 seconds" in my head. I came down the last hundred yards and heard another team telling some chick to speed up, to pass me. Oh hell no! I poured all I had into it and went all out  She fell behind. Speaking of fell, I nearly went down on during those last 20 yrds. I didn't, and passed off the baton without a hitch. As soon as my asthmatic lungs allowed me to, I was off in search of my split. I ran a 67.25. Really?! Really!! Can I not do anything correct?! All I had to do was run a 65. KJ couldn't have made it any more clear. The worst part was that everyone else ran a 64. Even Erin who had literally just finished running and placing 2nd in the 2 mile. She also ran and won the mile that day.

I am such a loser. I don't even know why I did everything wrong yesterday. I felt perfectly fine, my cold was just barely there. What happened?! I'm such a loser. Well, thanks for reading this. Have a good day or night or whatever time of day it currently is where ever you're reading this.

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

I GOT A JOB

So in my last post I talked about how I was thinking about doing a home baking thing. I went to the Armory to give Sergeant Nelson a cupcake. Side note: A couple weeks ago I had made cupcakes and brought some over for the guys but he hadn't been there that day and therefor didn't get any, which is why I brought one today since I had baked this weekend. Side-side note: They were maple pancake cupcakes with maple butter cream frosting. All homemade. He was in a meeting so I was waiting in the, I don't know, building entrance area(?) I met this woman who was waiting for a her meeting. Side note: Turns out that due to weather her meeting had been canceled and she just hadn't been told. We started talking and she told me that she was here to talk about a party for the US that she was planning for Sunday the weekend before the fourth. So we got to talking about and she was telling me about what food she was thinking of and, I kid you not, a lig...

How Rude!

Mother Nature must be in a terrible mood. Just today we've gotten 5-8 inches with more to come tonight. Wait a second *runs to window* fat flakes are still falling from the sky! Maybe I'll just keep this short and go skiing instead... Nothing special really happened today, but there was something that I wanted to share. I just can't remember what it was...I'll remember later! Well I found out that I won't be able to go tomorrow. It;s a real bummer cause I was really looking forwards to it. I mean really looking forward to it. I was so excited I couldn't sit in class! The fact that it's now an impossibility brings a sadness to my life. It'll pass by Saturday and it's not a true sadness. It's more of the fact that I can feel this great chance at something I might never get to do again, at meeting my idol, passing me by.  Oh well. Life's full of opportunity. Maybe one day this chance will come again and I'll be able to take full advantage ...

Random bits and pieces of stuff

WARNING: There are a lot of pictures While biking with Nick we stopped at the Continental divide, and as we stood there trying to figure out how to tell the other that we should turn back this bike adventure hurts, we heard some snowmobilers. The sound alone was enough for Nick to launch into a rant about snowmobilers, who he, I now know, hates. Well they came up behind us and crossed the road a few feet away from where we were. For some reason there was a large group of them too, I mean since when do they don things in groups? Anyways, as soon as Nick says "They're a bunch of d**ches!" the biggest one goes by. He stops, shuts off the snowmobile and starts walking towards us. We freaked out! I was thinking "Holy fudge knuckles! He heard him!!!", just as Nick says,"Let's go South!" We headed South. Fast. The reason we went South was because it's take us away from the snowmobiler, and farther away from town. That's the reason we kept going,...