Skip to main content

JNQ at Mt. Itasca

Yes, I did another JNQ race, and this time it was at home. The day before the race I had a high school one. It was our first (and only) pursuit of the season and man was it a sad one. Most of the time either couldn't make it or was sick. Maggie showed up and wound up just going home. The two of us went out to do a warm up/see the course ski and after the first hill she was dying. That weekend she had an uber high fever and was just sick. I went and did the first race and just had to puke the entire time. Afterwards I did wind up puking a couple of times, and decided that I just shouldn't do the second race.

Even though I was sick Friday I still decided to race on Saturday.I did the women's 5k and think I did decently. It was a tough course, well mostly it was just a tough beginning. This is what we did; the right horseshoe into the swamp loop, up the switch back climbed all the way up the way, did a loop up top, went down part of bunny hill connected to the service road, whipped around a corner and did the biathlon loop coming out farther down the service road two sharp turns and we went down the roller coaster, up the camel humps down the water fall, to the left horseshoe and then it was just the finishing stretch.

We did an interval start one at a time at 15 seconds. I'm really angry because the girl who started behind me caught me on the wall and then proceeded to draft me for the rest of the race. I'd move to one side, she'd move to that side, I'd speed up, she'd speed up. I couldn't shake her and it really pissed me off. Anyways....I did manage to pass a couple people which made me happy. 

I wound up finishing in 17th for U18, but if I had raced for college I would've been 30th. Also for the college since the split the final placement in squads A and B (varsity and junior varsity basically), I would've wound up placing 24th for varsity which makes me feel pretty darn good about myself.

Okay, this post is really going no where cause I'm kinda in a mood and am about to go write a rant about everything because meh.

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

I GOT A JOB

So in my last post I talked about how I was thinking about doing a home baking thing. I went to the Armory to give Sergeant Nelson a cupcake. Side note: A couple weeks ago I had made cupcakes and brought some over for the guys but he hadn't been there that day and therefor didn't get any, which is why I brought one today since I had baked this weekend. Side-side note: They were maple pancake cupcakes with maple butter cream frosting. All homemade. He was in a meeting so I was waiting in the, I don't know, building entrance area(?) I met this woman who was waiting for a her meeting. Side note: Turns out that due to weather her meeting had been canceled and she just hadn't been told. We started talking and she told me that she was here to talk about a party for the US that she was planning for Sunday the weekend before the fourth. So we got to talking about and she was telling me about what food she was thinking of and, I kid you not, a lig...

How Rude!

Mother Nature must be in a terrible mood. Just today we've gotten 5-8 inches with more to come tonight. Wait a second *runs to window* fat flakes are still falling from the sky! Maybe I'll just keep this short and go skiing instead... Nothing special really happened today, but there was something that I wanted to share. I just can't remember what it was...I'll remember later! Well I found out that I won't be able to go tomorrow. It;s a real bummer cause I was really looking forwards to it. I mean really looking forward to it. I was so excited I couldn't sit in class! The fact that it's now an impossibility brings a sadness to my life. It'll pass by Saturday and it's not a true sadness. It's more of the fact that I can feel this great chance at something I might never get to do again, at meeting my idol, passing me by.  Oh well. Life's full of opportunity. Maybe one day this chance will come again and I'll be able to take full advantage ...

Random bits and pieces of stuff

WARNING: There are a lot of pictures While biking with Nick we stopped at the Continental divide, and as we stood there trying to figure out how to tell the other that we should turn back this bike adventure hurts, we heard some snowmobilers. The sound alone was enough for Nick to launch into a rant about snowmobilers, who he, I now know, hates. Well they came up behind us and crossed the road a few feet away from where we were. For some reason there was a large group of them too, I mean since when do they don things in groups? Anyways, as soon as Nick says "They're a bunch of d**ches!" the biggest one goes by. He stops, shuts off the snowmobile and starts walking towards us. We freaked out! I was thinking "Holy fudge knuckles! He heard him!!!", just as Nick says,"Let's go South!" We headed South. Fast. The reason we went South was because it's take us away from the snowmobiler, and farther away from town. That's the reason we kept going,...