Skip to main content

Track Sections

This year I had my own events at sections! No relays for this girl! I did high jump and 300 hurdles, both of which fell on day one of sections.
First up was high jump. I'm not going to lie, I was terrified. All year I've been doing terrible at high jump, and was scared of embarrassing myself. Then I found out opening height was 4'4". The world hated me that day. I haven't been able to make 4'4" all year! I didn't expect to make it. Or even come close. I was extremely nervous, not about failing for that was certain, but about landing on the pole. Have you ever fallen on one of them? It hurts! Anyways.....We started, and as I watched girl after girl go, and make it, my spirits fell. My coach didn't help much either. He is terrible when it comes to pep talks. When my turn came I took a deep breath and went for it. I freaking SAILED over the bar!! I definitely should've raised the bar on my exceptions. (hehehe, see what I did there?) I was so excited I almost didn't care that I just missed making 4'6"!!

Next up was 300 hurdles and I was excited. This was my event and I was going to rock it! My goal was to make finals, and hopefully state. I was ready for it. I had a nice warm-up and felt great! To make finals you had to be top 2 in your heat or top 2 overall. I started out in lane 2, heat something or other. For the first 100 I was behind everyone. It looked like there was no chance of catching up, but then I hit my stride and moved up to be tied for second coming around the curve. I felt good and was picking up the speed. I passed the girl in second, and was moving in on the girl in first when disaster struck. I hit a hurdle, but managed to stay on my feet. I made it over the next hurdle, but then my leg out of no where my leg gave out. Literally. One second I was landing after the hurdle, the next my leg collapsed. For the first time ever I fell in a meet. That's a lie. I didn't fall, I got laid out flat. It looked like I had done a Superman, I even slid. I got and finished though. 4th in my heat. Crossed the finish line crying. Once again KJ sucks at cheering people up. He made me feel worse. Thankfully Bailey agreed to sneak off and explore the UMD campus with me. I felt better afterwards.

So that was an interesting day

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Random bits and pieces of stuff

WARNING: There are a lot of pictures While biking with Nick we stopped at the Continental divide, and as we stood there trying to figure out how to tell the other that we should turn back this bike adventure hurts, we heard some snowmobilers. The sound alone was enough for Nick to launch into a rant about snowmobilers, who he, I now know, hates. Well they came up behind us and crossed the road a few feet away from where we were. For some reason there was a large group of them too, I mean since when do they don things in groups? Anyways, as soon as Nick says "They're a bunch of d**ches!" the biggest one goes by. He stops, shuts off the snowmobile and starts walking towards us. We freaked out! I was thinking "Holy fudge knuckles! He heard him!!!", just as Nick says,"Let's go South!" We headed South. Fast. The reason we went South was because it's take us away from the snowmobiler, and farther away from town. That's the reason we kept going,...

Fun?

I was invited to go to a party. By a senior. BOO-YA!! So Jake and I went. We all mat at the basketball game Side note: We won, after going into overtime and almost a second overtime! The boys  are now going on to either section finals or section quarters.  Then we all went bowling, which hurt my ankle, so that now this morning it's all in a fit. We bowled until 11pm and then went back to Sidney's house were Spencer asked Marly to prom! Aww. There was a huge banner and everything! Once things called down everyone  headed in for food, well Jake, Kali and I already had. Hehehee. How does Cathy manage to make everything taste so good? We played Dance Dance Revolution 4, messed with each other and ate food. Jake and I should never play Dance Dance. We're not the best and look awkward. The entire time I missed my "group", my close friends, the one's who know me, who I actually hang out with. I normally don't hang out with the people who were there, some of them ...

I GOT A JOB

So in my last post I talked about how I was thinking about doing a home baking thing. I went to the Armory to give Sergeant Nelson a cupcake. Side note: A couple weeks ago I had made cupcakes and brought some over for the guys but he hadn't been there that day and therefor didn't get any, which is why I brought one today since I had baked this weekend. Side-side note: They were maple pancake cupcakes with maple butter cream frosting. All homemade. He was in a meeting so I was waiting in the, I don't know, building entrance area(?) I met this woman who was waiting for a her meeting. Side note: Turns out that due to weather her meeting had been canceled and she just hadn't been told. We started talking and she told me that she was here to talk about a party for the US that she was planning for Sunday the weekend before the fourth. So we got to talking about and she was telling me about what food she was thinking of and, I kid you not, a lig...